Gov. Andy Beshear and Energy and Environment Cabinet Secretary Rebecca Goodman are urging Kentuckians to be alert as the fall wildfire hazard season begins Oct. 1, bringing outdoor burning restrictions to the state.
Avoid burning debris during fire hazard seasons and during dry, windy conditions. Outdoor burning is illegal between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. in or within 150 feet of any woodland or brushland during wildfire hazard seasons.
“We want to do everything we possibly can to keep all our Kentucky families safe, so we are asking everyone to use caution and be alert this wildfire season,” Gov. Beshear said. “Let’s do what we do best: Work together to keep our neighbors safe.”
The commonwealth’s outdoor burning law (KRS149.400) prohibits burning between the hours of 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. local time, if the fire is within 150 feet of any woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass or other flammable materials. These restrictions are in effect every fall (Oct. 1 – Dec. 15) and spring (Feb. 15 – April 30) to help prevent wildfires.
“The National Interagency Coordination Center’s Predictive Services are indicating the Kentucky wildfire potential outlook is normal for this fall, but the lack of precipitation in late August and early